North Carolina Association of Rescue and EMS 60th Annual Convention

The North Carolina Association of Rescue and EMS will hold its 60th Annual Convention at the Hickory Metro Convention Center Sept. 8-10, 2016. It is a great opportunity for rescue and EMS responders from all across the state to come together to network, train, and compete in rescue and EMS competitions.


The convention begins with the Annual and Directors meeting on Thursday night with the remainder of time devoted to training classes and competitions. During the convention many vendors will be available offering a wide range of products and services. So, it is another great opportunity to see what they have to offer. Friday night will also include our Second Annual Cornhole Tournament which was a lot of fun last year.

Competitions are held in both EMS and Rescue. The EMS competition allows senior and junior teams to compete and showcase their BLS skills so that any level can compete. It is a great competition that allows those teams to show off and demonstrate those BLS skills that are the foundation of emergency medical care.

The Rescue Competitions include a Technical Rescue Competition with teams of six people competing and the Craig Helms Rescue Challenge where teams of two compete featuring varying rescue skills. This year we will also be holding the first Junior Rescue Competition that will allow junior rescue members ages 14-17 to be able to compete in a competition of various rescue skills. Competition not only provides the opportunity to demonstrate proficiency of skills but it is also a time of training to be able to pick up new or more refined techniques to solve those complicated incidents that we may face in our careers.

The Convention concludes with the Awards Ceremony on Saturday night. During the ceremony those that have gone on before us are honored with a time of memory and reflection as we remember our colleagues and their contribution to emergency services in the state. Then awards are presented not only for the competition winners but also for:

  • Rescue of the Year
  • Hiram Brinson Memorial Award
  • William Osbourne Outstanding Chief
  • Steve Richey Award
  • Chad Smith Award

Visit for more information or for a list of area hotels.

Contact Us

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.